Is car insurance required in the state of Florida? Yes, it is. In Florida, you must always carry proof of insurance with you whenever you use your vehicle, and it must be current. If you are pulled over or caught in a car accident, law enforcement will ask you to show this proof. Registration of a new vehicle also requires you to have car insurance coverage.
Car or auto insurance is like an umbrella that one needs yet hopes to never use. Thus, it is important that Florida drivers know the mandatory insurance requirements before purchasing a car. The minimum requirements for car insurance coverage are:
- $10,000 for personal injury protection
- $10,000 for property damage liability
While it is not required for you to carry bodily injury liability insurance in Florida, adding this to your coverage is recommended. Bodily injury insurance protects you if a car accident happens wherein people are either injured or killed due to your negligence. Even though the state is a no-fault state, an injured party can still sue you for damages if they go beyond what your minimum insurance requirements cover.
Thus, our insurance agency in Florida likewise suggests this type of insurance. Other types of optional car insurance policies include collision insurance and comprehensive insurance.